To all those that read this crazy thing, I am sorry that I have been out of commission lately.
Between work's crazy schedule (Relay Season has begun,) and being a mom to a kindergartener and 5 month old, I haven't found the time to blog. But I am back in action and will begin blogging as usual.
Blog to you soon............
Sunday, March 26, 2006
Monday, March 13, 2006
Daycare Blues
I visited two daycares today, knowing that my neighbor who keeps Joshua will not be able to continue babysitting much past May.
I won't name where I visited, but I will say, I am beginning to have second thoughts about being a working mom (just joking Chris.) One of them I went with was frightening. It had 22 infants in one room, with four teachers and two spaces available. I couldn't comprehend how they could do that, or how the teachers can handle it. When I asked, they said well we are actually two kids down, so we have a bit of a break.
A bit of a break???
I tell you, while I was in there I about had an anxiety attack. I could imagine Joshy in there, crying, wondering what he had done so wrong that his mommy would put him into such a place. I actually started hyperventilating.
The woman asked me if I wanted to tour the rest of the daycare (she must have seen the look of fright on my face.) I reluctantly went and then quickly ran out the door.
It blows me away that these daycare workers, who make minimum wage, have a 6:1 ratio are the people who will have the most influence, outside of parents, on our future, our children. All we can do is pray to God to keep not only our children, but those who nurture, teach and mold them close to His heart.
I won't name where I visited, but I will say, I am beginning to have second thoughts about being a working mom (just joking Chris.) One of them I went with was frightening. It had 22 infants in one room, with four teachers and two spaces available. I couldn't comprehend how they could do that, or how the teachers can handle it. When I asked, they said well we are actually two kids down, so we have a bit of a break.
A bit of a break???
I tell you, while I was in there I about had an anxiety attack. I could imagine Joshy in there, crying, wondering what he had done so wrong that his mommy would put him into such a place. I actually started hyperventilating.
The woman asked me if I wanted to tour the rest of the daycare (she must have seen the look of fright on my face.) I reluctantly went and then quickly ran out the door.
It blows me away that these daycare workers, who make minimum wage, have a 6:1 ratio are the people who will have the most influence, outside of parents, on our future, our children. All we can do is pray to God to keep not only our children, but those who nurture, teach and mold them close to His heart.
Sunday, March 12, 2006
Holy Blowout Batman!!!!!!!!
For those of you who read this blog and don't have kids, you might want to pass this one up...
For those of you who have kids, I think you will feel for us....
This has only happened one other time since we had Joshua.
I am not even sure how it happens.
But Joshua had a complete blowout of his diaper. I don't even think the "pooh" hit the diaper...just went up his back, making it nearly impossible to remove any clothing without getting it eveywhere.
Of course, Joshua was laughing.
Not sure if he was laughing at the fact that it took Shawn and I 30 minutes to take off the outfit, get him in the bathtub and clean him up, or the fact that his tummy felt better.
I tend to believe it was a little of both.
For those of you who have kids, I think you will feel for us....
This has only happened one other time since we had Joshua.
I am not even sure how it happens.
But Joshua had a complete blowout of his diaper. I don't even think the "pooh" hit the diaper...just went up his back, making it nearly impossible to remove any clothing without getting it eveywhere.
Of course, Joshua was laughing.
Not sure if he was laughing at the fact that it took Shawn and I 30 minutes to take off the outfit, get him in the bathtub and clean him up, or the fact that his tummy felt better.
I tend to believe it was a little of both.
Saturday, March 11, 2006
Things kids say...
Recently, a fellow blogger wrote about funny things kids say (not really knowing the meaning of what they say,) which prompted me to write this.
Today we went to Cracker Barrel and Tyler thoroughly embarressed us.
He was looking out the window and there was a woman sitting outside. He says "Mom, look, that woman has big boobs...actually, they are enormous!"
I say, "Tyler, you don't say things like that!" (and then I kick Shawn under the table as to say something as well.) So Shawn says, "Yeah, you don't say things like that, especially in front of your mom."
Thinking back now, how would you take that?
Today we went to Cracker Barrel and Tyler thoroughly embarressed us.
He was looking out the window and there was a woman sitting outside. He says "Mom, look, that woman has big boobs...actually, they are enormous!"
I say, "Tyler, you don't say things like that!" (and then I kick Shawn under the table as to say something as well.) So Shawn says, "Yeah, you don't say things like that, especially in front of your mom."
Thinking back now, how would you take that?
Welcome Spring!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

When winter starts to fade, there are some that love their spring cleaning.
Not us...
I know this sounds strange, but whenever the first bout of spring comes around, Shawn and I go crazy about yardwork. Even when we owned the house at the beach, it was a big deal. The first nice weekend was usually spent at the closest Lowes Home Improvement store stocking up on the must haves for the yard.
This year was no different.
When we bought and moved into our new house, it was right around Thanksgiving, so all of the plants, trees and shrubs were in, what I lovingly refer to as rest mode (makes it sound better than dead.) Now that spring has unofficially sprung, all of the flowers are starting to bloom and it is beauuuuutiful!!! Purple tulips, dogwood trees and other things that I don't know what they are, I just know they are pretty are popping up all over the place.
So not to fail our yearly tradition, Shawn and I have gotten 3 truckloads of red mulch to accent the already beautiful landscaping. As you probably notice when you look at the time, it is only 4:50pm, and Thank You God, Joshua has woken up from his nap, so I was able to take a break from spreading it. I was ready for a break. I do forget every year, just how hard of work it is. I even got my first blister of the year.
So welcome spring, it's nice to see you again ol' friend.
Thursday, March 09, 2006
Cheesburger in Paradise No More
I am completely over the hill.
Yup, old as dirt.
Might even need a walker soon.
Now, let me tell you what brought me to this startling conclusion.
It was announced today that Jimmy Buffett would be playing at an amphitheater close to where I live.
Cool, I thought, I haven't been to a concert in awhile. Maybe I can go to this one.
Call a colleague to see if she would like to go. It would be pretty cool. We'd have fun.
No, we decide, we would have to take the day after the concert off of work to recupe. We just can't handle that kind of excitement anymore. We'd feel bad. Even if we didn't do anything bad. You know those young Parrotheads. We would be dealing with all of the effects of their fun.
So I guess on Sunday,June 4th, instead of going to Margaritaville, I will be listening to Buffett on CD, but come Monday it'll be alright.
Adult TV
I have to share a funny with y'all.
Yesterday, when Shawn got home from work, guess what we watched on TV?
Give up?
Jimmy Neutron, Boy Genius, on Nickelodeon.
The kicker of it all is that Tyler wasn't even home.
I think it is time for some grown ups only date. Maybe we'll even go see a PG movie.
Yesterday, when Shawn got home from work, guess what we watched on TV?
Give up?
Jimmy Neutron, Boy Genius, on Nickelodeon.
The kicker of it all is that Tyler wasn't even home.
I think it is time for some grown ups only date. Maybe we'll even go see a PG movie.
Sunday, March 05, 2006
Super Yanceys?

We watched the movie Sky High last night.
The only question Tyler had at the end was, "Are you and Daddy superhero's too?"
Which made us think...if we were superheros what powers would we want to have?
Shawn has decided that he would like to fly like superman, eliminating the need for other modes of transportation, as well as be invisible.
I just new he was going to say x-ray vision.
His reasoning behind invisibility over x-ray vision, is that if he was invisible he would never need x-ray, for he could always be in the right place at the right time. Such a man.
Me, on the other hand. I do like the idea of being invisible, that way I can see what my kids are doing and where they are going and not get caught (please read previous blog posting and you'll understand why,) and to have the ability to stretch, like on the Fantastic Four.
Think of all the things I could do from the comfort of my living room. I could go grocery shopping, get the mail and truly "work from home." I could be brushing my teeth in the bathroom, while making Tylers lunch in the kitchen. The list could go on and on (while my weight would probably go up and up with no exercise.)
Well, realistically, I think as parents we do have super powers that no one else has...
We can see out of the back of our heads, we have ESP and know when our child is about to do something foolish (and usually catch him before he does it,) and we also seem to be able to conquer the world for our children.
It is great to be a super hero.
Saturday, March 04, 2006
Friday, March 03, 2006
C.R.A.P.
I have a new acronymn...
It seems like everywhere I turn, somebody has another great idea.
Whether it be home, work or anywhere in between, I hear the scary phrase, "I have a great idea," usually followed by, "why don't you do...?"
My new acronymn is C.R.A.P., Creative Reasoning Among People.
So now, I have a lot of CRAP to do!!!!
It seems like everywhere I turn, somebody has another great idea.
Whether it be home, work or anywhere in between, I hear the scary phrase, "I have a great idea," usually followed by, "why don't you do...?"
My new acronymn is C.R.A.P., Creative Reasoning Among People.
So now, I have a lot of CRAP to do!!!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)

